Congressman Tom Rice

Representing the 7th District of South Carolina

S.T.O.P. Resolution

Stop This Overreaching Presidency (STOP)

After carefully researching the standing the House of Representatives has and what action we can take, I have introduced a resolution to STOP the President’s clear overreach.
H.Res. 442, the Stop This Overreaching Presidency Resolution, directs the House to institute legal action to require the President to comply with the law.  This resolution does not require a vote in the Senate.
  • Article II, Section 3 of the United States Constitution entitled, “Presidential Responsibilities”, states that the President “shall take Care that the Laws be faithfully executed." However, President Obama has chosen to ignore some of the laws written by Congress.
  • The President has repeatedly ignored this Constitutionally-mandated duty, to include:
  1. His one-year extension of the “substandard” insurance policies. 
  2. His one-year delay in Obamacare’s employer mandate.
  3. Granting deferred removal action to illegal immigrants.
  4. His waiver of the welfare work requirement under TANF.
H. Res. 442 Cosponsors (119):

Amodei (NV-2), Bachmann (MN-6), Bachus (AL-6), Barletta (PA-11), Barr (KY-6), Barton (TX-6), Benishek (MI-1), Bentivolio (MI-11), Black (TN-6), Blackburn (TN-7), Boustany (LA-3), Bridenstine (OK-1), Brooks (AL-5), Broun (GA-10), Burgess (TX-26), Byrne (AL-1), Calvert (CA-42), Campbell (CA-45), Carter (TX-31), Chabot (OH-1), Chaffetz (UT-3),Collins (GA-9), Cramer (ND-At Large), Crawford (AR-1), Culberson (TX-7), Daines (MT-At Large), Davis (IL-13),  DesJarlais (TN-4), DeSantis (FL-6), Jeff Duncan (SC-3), John Duncan (TN-2), Ellmers (NC-2), Farenthold (TX-27), Fincher (TN-8),  Fleischmann (TN-3), Flores (TX-17), Franks (AZ-8), Gibbs (OH-7), Gingrey (GA-11), Gosar (AZ-4), Gowdy (SC-4), Tom Graves (GA-14), Griffin (AR-2), Ralph Hall (TX-4), Harper (MS-03), Harris (MD-1), Hensarling (TX-5), Hudson (NC-8), Huelskamp (KS-1), Hunter (CA-50), Johnson (OH-6), Jones (NC-3), Joyce (OH-14), Steve King (IA-4), Kingston (GA-1), LaMalfa (CA-1),  Lamborn (CO-5), Lance (NJ-07), Lankford (OK-5), Latta (OH-5),  Luetkemeyer (MO-3), Lummis (WY-At Large), Marchant (TX-24), Marino (PA-10), McCaul (TX-10), McClintock (CA-4), McHenry (NC-10), Meadows (NC-11), Messer (IN-6), Mica (FL-7), Candace Miller (MI-10), Jeff Miller (FL-1), Mullin (OK-2), Mulvaney (SC-5), Neugebauer (TX-19), Nugent (FL-11), Nunnelee (MS-1), Olson (TX-22), Palazzo (MS-4), Perry (PN-4), Pittenger (NC-9), Posey (FL-8), Tom Price (GA-6), Ribble (WI-8), Rigell (VA-2), Roby (AL-2), Roe (TN-1), Hal Rogers (KY-5), Mike Rogers (AL-3), Rohrabacher (CA-48), Rokita (IN-4), Rothfus (PA-12), Salmon (AZ-5), Sanford (SC-1), Scalise (LA-1), Schweikert (AZ-6), Scott (GA-8), Sessions (TX-32), Shuster (PA-9), Simpson (ID-2), Jason Smith (MO-8), Lamar Smith (TX-21),  Stewart (UT-2), Stivers (OH-15), Stockman (TX-36), Southerland (FL-2), Tiberi (OH-12),Walberg (MI-7), Walden (OR-2), Walorski (IN-2),Weber (TX-14),Wenstrup(OH-2), Westmoreland (GA-3), Williams (TX-25), Joe Wilson (SC-2), Womack (AR-3), Woodall (GA-7), Yoho (FL-3), Don Young (AK-At Large)


H.Res. 442:  The Stop This Overreaching Presidency (STOP)