Congressman Tom Rice Announces Winner of Congressional Art Competition

Socastee High School Student Emma Hertel’s piece, “Step Into the Liquid,” Receives Top Honor

Washington, D.C.— Congressman Tom Rice (SC-07) today announced that Socastee High School Student Emma Hertel is the winner of the 2014 Congressional Art Competition, An Artistic Discovery, for South Carolina’s Seventh Congressional District.  The winning art piece, “Step Into the Liquid,” will be displayed in the halls of the United States Capitol along with winning artwork from congressional districts across the country for one year.

“I am pleased to announce that Emma Hertel is this year’s Congressional Art Competition Winner,” said Congressman Rice.  “While there were many deserving submissions, Emma’s mixed medium piece, “Step Into the Liquid,” will represent the Seventh District proudly in our nation’s Capitol. Congratulations Emma and thank you to all of the young artists across the Seventh District that submitted artwork this year.”

[[{"fid":"341","view_mode":"full","fields":{"format":"full","field_file_image_alt_text[und][0][value]":"‘Step Into the Liquid,’ by Emma Hertel","field_file_image_title_text[und][0][value]":"‘Step Into the Liquid,’ by Emma Hertel"},"type":"media","attributes":{"style":"height: 200px; width: 300px; border-width: 1px; border-style: solid;","class":"media-element file-full"}}]]

Step Into the Liquid,’ by Emma Hertel

Hertel is invited to travel to Washington, D.C., courtesy of Southwest Airlines to attend the Congressional Art Competition Awards Ceremony.

The Congressional Art Competition began in 1982 to provide an opportunity for Members of Congress to encourage and recognize the artistic talents of their young constituents. Since then, over 650,000 high school students have been involved with the nationwide competition.

The Congressional Art Competition was open to all Seventh District high school students. Last year, Waccamaw High School student Katherine Gleaton’s piece “Rebel,”  was selected to represent the Seventh District.